The Immortal Rules

Blood of Eden, #1

Allison Sekemoto is stubbornly Unregistered: she refuses to become a blood servant to the vampires that rule the city of New Covington. She lives with a band of other street urchins, scavenging for food and resources, and when one of their missions goes awry, Allison is transformed into the very thing she despises: a vampire. She is trained briefly by her vampire maker and then is forced to set out on her own, into a landscape hostile to both vampires and humans.

Immortal Rules combines two popular genres: vampires and dystopia. The novel is a set in a world taken over by vampires with humans turned into a mainly compliant food source, while both are victims of a plague that has upset their world. Allison is perfectly suited to this landscape, because she is a survivor. She is tough and independent, engaged in a dangerous quest, and she will appeal to readers who liked Katniss of the Hunger Games and Katsa from Graceling. Hopefully, this independent spirit will continue in the subsequent novels, meanwhile readers can enjoy this dystopian mashup.


Book Blurb for The Immortal Rules

In a future world, vampires reign. Humans are blood cattle. And one girl will search for the key to save humanity.

Allison Sekemoto survives in the Fringe, the outermost circle of a vampire city. By day, she and her crew scavenge for food. By night, any one of them could be eaten.

Some days, all that drives Allie is her hatred of them. The vampires who keep humans as blood cattle. Until the night Allie herself is attacked—and given the ultimate choice. Die…or become one of the monsters.

Faced with her own mortality, Allie becomes what she despises most. To survive, she must learn the rules of being immortal, including the most important: go long enough without human blood, and you will go mad.

Then Allie is forced to flee into the unknown, outside her city walls. There she joins a ragged band of humans who are seeking a legend—a possible cure to the disease that killed off most of humankind and created the rabids, the mindless creatures who threaten humans and vampires alike.

But it isn't easy to pass for human. Especially not around Zeke, who might see past the monster inside her. And Allie soon must decide what—and who—is worth dying for.


Night Owl Reviews May, 2012 4.00